I can’t hardly believe I have seven weeks off! It does feel great when you are not in a hurry to do anything, when you no longer have that feeling of urgency  because you have to work in the afternoon. I am not complaining by any means! I feel blessed for the job I have as I do one of the things I like very much.

Two weeks ago I had the chance to attend the always-nice New Talent Performance Exhibition when the theatrical school shows some dancing, theatrical event and other performances entirely imagined by students.

During the event I finally made up my mind about talking photography more seriously. Having said that I think it is time to buy a much better camera. What I experienced with my current camera was the huge struggle to focus even when the camera beeped saying it had nailed it. Many many times when I checked the photos and zoomed in I realized they were out of focus. It is bloody frustrating to say the least! In order to make things a little better I selected the ALSERVO focus, which made things a little easier but far from being good or trustful.

I own the legendary and cheap Canon 50mm f1.8. It is a pretty nice lens but a very slow one to focus. Surely, it is not to be used in theatrical performance and in low light situations I know that but even in good daylight it misfocuses very much. It is not to say it doesn’t produce beautiful images because when it nails it does produce amazing images.

Interestingly, I think it has to do with APSC sensor cameras. When mounted on full frame cameras it produces much more beautiful images, maybe it is the so-called the “Full frame look”.

A professional photographer was hired to cover the entire event and one particular thing grabbed my attention. At first, I thought he was a little lazy as he barely moved. Then a second thought came to my mind…. why would he take thousands of pictures hoping to get some in focus when he had a full frame camera, with decent glasses and excellent focus speed?

Anyway, enough talk let’s go to the pictures….

image

 

This photo was taken one hour or so before the show kicks in. Everyone was in a nervous good mood.

image

 

 

